Sharing with Collaboration Products

Posted: September 21st, 2016 | Author: | Filed under: Uncategorized | No Comments »
Sharing is caring

Sharing is caring

Sharing is caring. As a Product Manager of a collaboration app you must consider friction, security, virality and the overall user experience. I’ve analyzed the top dogs when it comes to collaboration apps these days – Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, Asana and Trello to see how each handles the following workflows.

Workflows

Sharing with Existing Users

  • Send Email to existing user email
  • If logged in, the user goes directly into the item (document, event, etc)
  • If not logged in, prompt the user to log in
  • If clicked on the link while logged into a different account, inform the user that account doesn’t have access and allow them to sign in from the account with access

Access Denied

Sharing with Existing Users is for the most part standard among all collaboration apps. One difference in the approaches analyzed is the notion of “Accepting” the invitation. The majority of the collaboration apps automatically give access to the user and the user will see the new item when they log in while others required the user to accept the item before they could access it.

Sharing with Non Users

  • Share with an email address that is not associated with this account
    • Prompt the user that this user does not have an account. Warn the user of any security concerns this may arise Google Share New Account Warning
      • Send Email to new user     Asana New User Email
  • If the user has another account and is signed into that account, you have a couple of options
    1. Allow the user to merge accounts Trello Account Merge
    2. Inform the user the account doesn’t have access and allow them to sign in from another account Access Denied
    3. Prompt the user to log in to the account it was shared with or accept the item to the account being used. Dropbox Accept
  • If the user would like to sign up, put them through registration 
    1. Quick Registration (Just email and password, no confirmation or profile gathering) Easy Registration
    2. Full Registration asana-profile
  • After Registration there are two main options
    1. Put the user directly into the item
    2. Put the user through a tutorial

Sharing with non-users has more trades offs to consider and therefore more variation among those analyzed.

Trello uses usernames instead of email addresses as their log in. This allows them to associate multiple email addresses to one account which allows them to give the user the option to add an email to an existing account. This approach maintains security and a good user experience.

Accepting the invitation to a different account than was shared was only observed with Dropbox. Dropbox allows you to do this when the item is shared with an email address that doesn’t have an account but forces you to log in to the account it was shared with if the email does have an account. This is an example of balancing security and user experience.

How much friction you put a user through when accessing a shared item is a tough decision with tradeoffs. The user may be in a situation where they need to access the shared item quickly and experiencing friction during sign up may leave a bad taste in their mouth. On the other hand, there are compelling reasons to add some friction to the process. Collecting contact information can allow a sales team to follow up with the new user. Putting the user through a tutorial may allow the user to understand the application better and have an overall better experience. Prompting a user to invite others into the app may allow that user to get more value from the app while also serving as a viral hook.

Conclusion

There are lot of options with sharing and no straightforward formula to figure out what option is best. Is security most important? Is allowing users to quickly access the item more important? Is capturing lead information critical? These are questions you can ask yourself when deciding on your options. As always, tracking your user behavior and A/B testing is your friend. Monitor your users and conduct tests to answer the following questions – Are users bailing during sign up? Are users using the app once to access the item shared but never come back? Is marketing/sales having trouble reaching out to the new user to convert them into a paying customer?

Happy Sharing!